EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue
Special Services

COVID-19 SEPTEMBER 2020 UPDATE

California Department of Public Health released new guidelines on September 4, 2020 regarding small cohorts of students on campus. Each school site has contacted our students with disabilities and made arrangements for this group of students to return to school for in-person learning. Lemoore Union Elementary School District has worked diligently on safety for staff and students. You can read through our Covid-19 Reopening Plan HERE. If you have any questions regarding your child's safety at school, please contact your school site administrators. 

Parents have the choice to keep students on distance learning or to have their students with disabilities return to school for in-person learning. Below is the district possible Risk Notification. 

Risk Notification regarding COVID-19

Those at high risk for health problems from COVID-19 should consult with their health care provider when considering whether to participate in K-12 activities. Also, families with a member who is at high risk from COVID-19 should carefully consider risks and benefits of sending their student to school in person.

Information from the Centers for Disease Control Currently Provides the following information regarding populations at risk for severe illness from COVID-19.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/people-with-medical-conditions.html

Child-aged Populations:

  • Children with the following conditions might be at increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19 compared to other children
    • Medical complexity
    • Neurological conditions
    • Genetic conditions
    • Congenital heart disease

Any-aged Populations:

People of any age with the following conditions are at increased risk of severe illness from COVID-19:

  • Cancer
  • Chronic Kidney Disease
  • COPD (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease)
  • Immunocompromised (due to solid organ transplant)
  • Obesity (BMI or 30 or higher)
  • Serious Heart Condition (such as heart failure, coronary artery disease or cardiomyopathies)
  • Sickle Cell Disease
  • Type 2 diabetes

Based on what is known at this time, people with the following conditions might be at an increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19:

  • Asthma
  • Cerebrovascular disease
  • Cystic Fibrosis
  • Hypertension or high blood pressure
  • Immunocompromised (weakened immune system from blood or bone marrow transplant, HIV, corticosteroid therapy or other immune weakening medicines)
  • Neurological Conditions (such as dementia)
  • Liver disease
  • Pregnancy
  • Pulmonary fibrosis (damaged lung tissue)
  • Smoking
  • Thalassemia (blood disorder)
  • Type 1 diabetes

Adult-aged Populations:

  • Older adults are at increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19

The greatest risk for severe illness from COVID-19 is among those aged 85 or older

Parent Support For At Home Learning

 A list of resources will be posted in the near future for our families to use on the LUESD main page. Please refer to your child's teacher and case manager for specific 

Here are a few websites that you can use at home and a sample daily schedule. 

Adaptive Worksheets for Students with Disabilities

Fun Brain

Talking to Children about COVID-19

Ultimate Guide to Mental Health and Education Resources for Kids and Teens

Supporting your Children's Social, Emotional, and Mental Health During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Child Mind: Coping During Covid 19. Resources for Parents

____________

Vision:

All students with exceptional needs will have the foundational skills upon which they are able to develop an appropriate level of independence, building on individual strengths that can be applied to activities that are productive to society.

Mission:

Through meaningful collaboration with teachers, staff and parents, students with exceptional needs will be provided with data-driven, quality instruction and intervention which support the development of academic achievements as well as personal and social skills.

The Department of Special Services provides special education, psychological, counseling and health services to students of Lemoore Union Elementary School District.

On subsequent pages, you can learn more about these services, how they can be accessed and how they may be beneficial to your child.

If you have any questions about Special Services, feel free to contact us at the District office in person or via telephone at (559) 924-6823.


Department Directory
Brooke Warkentin, Director of Special Services
bwarkentin@myluesd.net
Olivia Gutierrez, Special Services Technician
ogutierrez@myluesd.net
Emily Carney, School Psychologist
ecarney@myluesd.net
Hugo Calvillo, School Psychologist
hcalvillo@myluesd.net
Deena Mathers, School Psychologist
dmathers@myluesd.net
Ruth Garcia, Behavioral Specialist
rgarcia@myluesd.net
Tracy Paulo, School Counselor Cinnamon Elementary
tpaulo@myluesd.net
Christina Weaver, School Counselor Engvall Elementary
cweaver@myluesd.net
Brenden Boesch, School Counselor Lemoore Elementary
bboesch@myluesd.net
Kim Shirk, School Counselor Meadow Lane Elementary
kshirk@myluesd.net
Melanie Endo, School Counselor Liberty Middle School
mendo@myluesd.net
Lori Buder, School Counselor University Charter School
lbuder@myluesd.net
Stephanie Martin, RN District Nurse
smartin@myluesd.net
Jeanette Clodfelter, RN School Nurse
jclodfelter@myluesd.net
Kimberley Moench, LVN 
kmoench@myluesd.net
Melissa Perez, LVN
mperez@myluesd.net
Erica Loza, LVN  
eloza@myluesd.net
Kathy Tafoya, LVN 
ktafoya@myluesd.net
Alma Avina, LVN 
aavina@myluesd.net